• Magpie Dominates Breezy Perth Etchells 2018 Australian Championships

    Graham Taylor, James Mayo and Richard Allanson sailed the final two races Friday to seal the 2018 Etchells Australian Championship title.

    The victory means that they equal John Bertrand�s record of three back to back wins.

    The penultimate race went to Jeanne-Claude Strong and her Sydney based crew, and the final championship race to Michael Manford.

    Taylor took an eighth and a final race third place to finish overall nine points clear of David Turton, Josh Torpy and Klaus Lorenz.

    In third place on the podium were Michael Manford, Dean McAullay and Nick Gray.

    The final word was reserved for the winning skipper Graeme Taylor:

    �It�s been an amazing week, we got everything in the weather, we had a light air race, heavy air race, a couple in between, we have had an absolute ball, and we are thrilled with the result."

    "We are really pleased to have won three in a row and matched John Bertrand who is the only other person to do that, so we have an opportunity to go one better next time. We have a great team of people around us and it just makes it enjoyable as much as everything else.�