The Torbay Sailing Club hosted it's annual tribute to Sir Peter Blake over the weekend, a springboard event for youths 19 years and under.
235 entries in 13 divisions participated in the event located in Waiake Bay just north of Auckland proper. had Rachel von Zalinski
in attendance to capture the joy of youths enjoying the massive event for the future sailors from near and far!

The regatta takes on more than just a name from Sir Peter Blake. It also embraces his values, including the environment, leadership and fair play. The desire is for this to be the leading national event for centreboard classes and the highlight of the sailing calendar every year (particularly for young sailors, many of whom will never have been to an event with an atmosphere like this one).

This is a significant national two day regatta that every year receives entries from up in the Bay of Islands to down in Dunedin, and even some from overseas. The regatta is open to most youth centreboard classes including Optimist Green Fleet (first two years of racing), Optimist Open, O'Pen Skiff, P Class, Starling, Laser 4.7, Laser Radial, RS Feva, 29er 420, Nacra 15 and RSX 8.5.

Racing is spread over three separate race courses, positioned immediately offshore from Torbay in Auckland. The event features a large beach village area with a massive central event marquee. The road is closed during the event allowing safe access and also storage of the fifty RIBs required to run the courses. There is also a separate reserve area across the road for the parking of boat trailers.

That’s a wrap for the 2019 edition of the Sir Peter Blake Regatta hosted by the amazing team at Torbay Sailing Club! 235 boats took part in the two day event targeted at the under 19 sailors. There were smiles galore from the competitors and volunteers alike, and it was an honour to be involved in the event again – our fifth time being the media team!

This year we had our photographer Rachel on the water snapping away and 13 year old Tommy P in front of the camera interviewing the sailors, volunteers and parents.

The converted Sir Peter Blake Regatta Trophy was won by Laser sailor Luke Cashmore, and his name is now engraved next to the likes of Peter Burling, Jo Aleh, Marcus Grael, Hamish Willcox, Sam Meech, Sarah Winther, Nick Egnot-Johnson, Scott Barnes, Jayvee Buchanan, Markus Somerville, Jackson Keon, Scott McKenzie, Josh Rtmit, Sean Herbert, Joshy Hyde, Caleb Armit and Olivia Christie, who handed the trophy over to Luke as the most recent recipient.